MIGHTY NAME

Jesus is Jehovah! Jehovah means He who is, who was and always will be, or simply, the verb “to be.”  This is what Jehovah told Moses from the burning thorn bush in Exodus 3:14: 

And God said to Moses, I AM WHO I AM. And He said, Thus you shall say to the children of Israel, I AM has sent me to you 

In the New Testament, Jesus also uses the same name “I AM” to refer to Himself. 

John 8:24 – Therefore I said to you that you will die in your sins; for unless you believe that I AM, you will die in your sins. 

John 8:28 – Jesus therefore said to them, When you lift up the Son of Man, then you will know that I AM, and that I do nothing from Myself, but as My Father has taught Me, I speak these things. 

John 8:58 – Jesus said to them, Truly, truly, I say to you, Before Abraham came into being, I AM

Finally in John 18 there is an action packed scene I want you to visualize. Jesus takes His disciples to the garden to be with them one last time before He is betrayed. Judas, His betrayer, has gathered the cohort and some attendants from the chief priests and Pharisees, carrying torches and lamps and weapons.

On Wikipedia, a cohort is a group of 6 Centuria. A Centuria is a group of 60, 80, or 100 soldiers (usually 100 soldiers which is why it’s called a Centuria). Add in the attendants from the chief priests and Pharisees and we’re looking at anywhere from 360 to 600+ armed soldiers. Now picture this.

Jesus walks up to them and asks, Whom do you seek? They answer Him, Jesus the Nazarene. He says to them, I AM. When therefore He says to them, I AM, they draw back and fall to the ground. Then again He asks them, Whom do you seek? And they say, Jesus the Nazarene. Jesus answers, I told you that I AM.

This is a picture of us in our everyday lives. We can’t see it but we are surrounded by hundreds of demons, evil spirits, fallen angels, and satan himself. We need to be saved from their attacks throughout the day. How are we saved? By declaring the mighty name of Jesus, the Great I AM! Whoever calls on the name of the Lord will be saved. Lord Jesus!

This reminds me of a hymn by Margaret E. Barber:

About drod55

Howdy, my name is David and I love Jesus. I have fallen in love with the Bible and love reading Christian books and sharing the good news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

