My Boss Is A Jewish Carpenter

The first time I remember sharing the gospel, I was in fourth grade. I asked my best friend, “Do you know Jesus?”  He said, “Jesus was a carpenter!” It startled me how sharply he responded. For years I was intimidated to proclaim that Name because I was afraid I would get rejected. Now I can boldly confess that wonderful Name to anyone. I would like to share some verses that have encouraged me. 

Mark 6:3 Is not this the carpenter?

A carpenter is not an esteemed profession. This was the profession God chose for 30 years. This was who He was. This was why He was rejected. This label was used to question Jesus’ status and the words He was speaking and the miracles He was performing. As a result, He could not do any work of power except heal a few people. These were His neighbors and family friends He grew up with. He knew what it felt like to be rejected. Now He can empathize with us and be touched with our feelings and fear of rejection.

Mark is the only gospel that says Jesus was a carpenter. This is not surprising since Mark focuses primarily on Jesus as a lowly servant. Isaiah also prophesied that Jesus as the servant of Jehovah would be despised, forsaken, wounded, crushed, oppressed and afflicted (Isa. 53).

David also prophesied that Jesus would be reproached, despised, afflicted, and even killed.

Psa 22:6 – But I am a worm and not a man, A reproach of men and one despised by the people.

Psa 22:24 – For He has not despised nor detested the affliction of him who is afflicted.

Hebrews challenges us to consider Christ’s reproach so that we too can bear His reproach.

Heb 11:26 – Considering the reproach of the Christ greater riches than the treasures of Egypt; for he looked away to the reward.

Heb 13:13 – Let us therefore go forth unto Him outside the camp, bearing His reproach.

Finally, it is not a shame to be reproached in the name of Christ but a blessing.

1 Pet 4:14 – If you are reproached in the name of Christ, you are blessed, because the Spirit of glory and of God rests upon you.

I also appreciated the following Hymn written by Faith Murray                                        Tune: Lord Jesus You’re Lovely

Lord Jesus aquainted with grief a man of sorrows                                                                From Whom men hide their faces, Whom men do not esteem                                             Your visage is marred, Your face is not attracting                                                                     No majesty, You’re qualified all men now to redeem.

Your life of constant painful endurance now has reached me.                                                    A tender plant a root in dry ground You grow in me.                                                            There is nothing around You to satisfy but only                                                                            Your God the living water within me flowing free.

I drink the living water and so You grow within me.                                                            Naught else can satisfy You. It is the Father’s will.                                                                   That You should be rejected, despised, even forsaken.                                                            It’s thus that You redeem me and all my being fill.

About drod55

Howdy, my name is David and I love Jesus. I have fallen in love with the Bible and love reading Christian books and sharing the good news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Boss Is A Jewish Carpenter

  1. Wonderful song. This encourages me to preach the gospel more. I want the Spirit of glory and of God to rest upon me.

  2. rebella14 says:

    Amen! Great work D -rod!

Leave a Reply

