JESUS! HE GIVES YOU WINGS!

Character is doing what I have to even when I don’t want to. So how do I get good character? How do I motivate myself to do what I’m supposed to even when I don’t feel like it?  I can set an alarm on my phone to remind myself I’m supposed to be at a certain place at a certain time. Even still, how many times do I hit the dismiss button because I’m tired. I can take some deep breaths and an energy drink but that wears off after a few hours.

The solution is simple. I need another life, a life that always does what needs to be done. There is only one person who lived by this life…Jesus.

Jesus didn’t live by His will but the Father’s. Jesus even prays, “Father…not My will but Yours be done.”  In Mark 10:32, Jesus is on the way to Jerusalem knowing that it is there He will be betrayed and crucified. He led the way before His disciples with a speed and boldness that amazed them. Why were they amazed? He was going despite having told them twice already that the elders and chief priests and scribes there would kill Him (8:31, 9:31).

It is amazing not only that Jesus went where He did but also with the speed that He did. He needed to be there on time for all the prophecies to be fulfilled. 

http://online.recoveryversion.org/FootNotes.asp?FNtsID=1458 

There is another prophecy in Isaiah regarding this: 

Isaiah 50:4-7  The Lord has given me The tongue of the instructed, That I should know how to sustain the weary with a word. He awakens me morning by morning; He awakens my ear To hear as an instructed one. The Lord has opened my ear; And I was not rebellious, Nor did I turn back. I gave my back to those who strike me And my cheeks to those who pluck out the hair; I did not hide my face From humiliation and spitting. The Lord Jehovah helps me; Therefore I have not been dishonored; Therefore I have set my face like a flint, And I know that I will not be put to shame.

How did Jesus endure the cross and despise the shame? For the joy set before Him, His many brothers. Because Jesus died and resurrected and became the Life-Giving Spirit we can now receive the life of God.

So how should I get up and get going in the morning even when I’m weary? With a word from the Lord. How should you keep going even when you feel like crashing? Jesus! He gives you wings!

Isaiah 40:31 Yet those who wait on the Lord will renew their strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles; They will run and will not faint; They will walk and will not become weary.

About drod55

Howdy, my name is David and I love Jesus. I have fallen in love with the Bible and love reading Christian books and sharing the good news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

