The Lord is my Shepherd

Psalm 23 is the most quoted chapter of the Bible…ever. It is quoted by ordained ministers at funerals and by 2 year olds.

If that inspired you too, take a minute to memorize those 6 verses.

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters.3 He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His names sake.4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over.6 Surely goodness and loving-kindness shall follow me all the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever.

Now that those verses are fresh, read 2 Samuel 9:7 and note the similarities.

So David said to him, Do not fear, for I will surely show you kindness for Jonathan your fathers sake, and will restore to you all the land of Saul your grandfather; and you shall eat bread at my table continually.

King David wrote in Psalm 23 about how the Lord shepherded him. 2 Samuel 9:7 talks about how David shepherded Mephibosheth. The similarities are striking and show us something profound. David’s shepherding of Mephibosheth was a duplication of the Lord’s shepherding of David. The Lord shepherds us so we can shepherd others in like manner.

An awesome book I highly recommend is called, A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23, by Phillip Keller. A shepherd shares some insights regarding shepherding sheep and shepherding people. Here are some cool quotes I found.

As Christians we will sooner or later discover it is in the valleys of our lives that we find refreshment from God Himself. It is not until we have walked with Him through some very deep troubles that we discover He can lead us to find our refreshment in Him right there in the midst of our difficulty. We are thrilled beyond words when there comes restoration to our souls and spirits from His own gracious Spirit.

The simple fact is that just as water can only flow in a ditch or channel or valley; so in the Christian’s career, the life of God can only flow in blessing through the valleys that have been carved and cut into our own lives through excruciating experiences.

Let us not always try to avoid the dark things, the distressing days. They may well prove to be the way of greatest refreshment to ourselves and those around us.

Bringing it home, below is a picture taken this week of people hanging out in our home. Some are neighbors we just met in our apartment complex, some are students we just met on campus, others are friends we’ve known our entire life. The point is they are all in our house eating food and enjoying fellowship. This is how my wife and I were shepherded all the days of our life and so this is how we are shepherding everyone we meet. There’s something shepherding about “eating” “in the house” “all the days”.

About drod55

Howdy, my name is David and I love Jesus. I have fallen in love with the Bible and love reading Christian books and sharing the good news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Lord is my Shepherd

  1. That’s awesome. Way to make Psalm 23 real. Those people may be in the valley, but they look like they’re drinking the spiritual water!

  2. Sarah says:

    Wow… David was shepherded, and therefore he also could shepherd! Amazing! May the Lord continue to shepherd us that we may shepherd others.

Leave a Reply

