Witnessing

This week the church read through a booklet entitled Witnessing. This booklet contains many gospel stories that encouraged us to tell everyone the good news. This can be as simple as telling someone in an elevator “Jesus is the Son of God”. Or like the woman at the well in John chapter 4, “Come see a Man”.

This is encouraging because a big hinderance to witnessing is that I don’t know enough. I don’t know enough Bible verses and the ones I do know I can’t find. Just share your experience and enjoyment of Christ. This is what we do with movies we watch and restaurants we eat at. It shouldn’t be any different with witnessing.

A good example of this was in one of our Bible studies this week. A girl came in for the first time and said, “I don’t know much about the Bible, I don’t know any verses, maybe John 3:16, but I do know that Jesus is real. He saved me and healed me”. She was really ecstactic. Her testimony was so simple yet deeply impressed everyone in the room. It is the only thing I remember from that Bible study.

Another experience I had this week was talking to an athiest for two hours. The first thing I tell athiests is that I don’t believe in athiests. I really don’t. They are just disappointed seekers. The honest ones will eventually confess that they are agnostic which this young man did. He tried to reason out the existence of God so I tried to save him some time. I said, “If you really want to disprove God, read Romans 10:13. This verse says that the Lord is rich to all who call on His name. Let’s try this experiment. Say ‘Lord Jesus’ audibly a few times and if the Lord isn’t rich to you then you can walk away happy, knowing that you can now live however you want without worrying about anything other than yourself. But if God is rich to you, then you can walk away even happier that you found the unsearchably rich Christ.”

As great as this sounds, what was even better was that there were a few others sitting with us that had been enjoying Christ. Their faces were shining like angels. After one of them left, the young man started shining and said that was the happiest guy he ever saw. This is exactly what the booklet meant by lighting as many other “candles” as we can before ours burns out.

Here is a hymn about witnessing I really like.

  1. Come let us speak till the kingdom of the Lord comes down. Yes, let us speak till the kingdom of the Lord comes down.
    Why hold your peace?
    The Word release.
    Let us speak until the kingdom of the Lord comes down.
  2. Oh, loose the Word! It shall not return unto Him void.
    Yes, loose the Word! It shall not return unto Him void.
    Let’s sow the seed,
    This is our need;
    Loose the Word, and it shall not return unto Him void!
  3. It’s gospel time! Let us spread the gospel all around.
    Yes, gospel time! We will never fear the people’s frown!
    God’s done His work;
    Let us not shirk;
    We’re but pilgrims here, and we’ll not fear the people’s frown!
  4. If we will speak, Christ will witness in the hearts of men.
    If we will speak, Christ will witness in the hearts of men.
    Tell every man,
    Win all we can.
    Through our speaking, Christ is speaking in the hearts of men!
  5. The harvest’s ripe! We are preaching the full gospel now!
    The fields are white! We are preaching the full gospel now!
    For this men search—
    Christ and the church!
    Let us reap the harvest, preaching the full gospel now!

Source: http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/1294#ixzz1kuRg8IHU

About drod55

Howdy, my name is David and I love Jesus. I have fallen in love with the Bible and love reading Christian books and sharing the good news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Witnessing

  1. Billy says:

    Awesome post bro. I too feel like I just don’t know enough, but I do know Jesus is real.

Leave a Reply

