His Final Days

In Loving Memory of Mark Edward Snider.

Mark Edward Snider is resting at peace in Christ. He was found kneeling as in prayer the morning of March 15, 2012. His death was unexpected and he will be missed.

Mark Snider is my brother in Christ and also my father-in-law. My first childhood memory of him was at the San Antonio Zoo. My mother took my brother Jonathan and me one day which happened to be the same day Mark took his two daughters, Jennifer and Nicole to whom I am now married. Nicole stopped to say hi while I ran away and hid. This would continue throughout grade school, Junior High, High School, College, Bible College, and then some. I think I liked her.

My fondest memory of Mark during my adolescence was after a church meeting. Since I liked his daughter I wanted to walk up and respectfully greet him. I waved and said, “Hi brother Mark”. To my recollection, that was the first time I had ever addressed anyone as “brother”. It was very weird at first. Now I love it.

My recent memories of Mark were as a father-in-law. When I called to ask for his daughter’s hand in marriage, he said “of course” before I even had a chance to ask. I have referred to him as “dad” ever since.

Although I never got to talk to Mark in person since our marriage, I got to know him through phone calls and home videos. The week of his death, Nicole and I had been watching these holiday home videos he made. The last day of his life, we compiled all of these videos to DVD to send him. Although I will never get to send them to him, I did get to see the happiest days of his life, dancing with his girls, taking them to parks, and playing with them. He was very funny, friendly, peaceful, and pleasant.

Mark said two things the last week of his life that touched me very deeply. He told my wife on the phone that he started to pass out gospel tracts. Then, the day he died, he called and left a message which he ended by saying how he would stand up in the [church] meetings without knowing what to say and would speak for the Lord.

Preaching the gospel, praying for people, and prophesying to build up the church as Mark did is the meaning of human life. Nicole would pray that her dad would be an overcomer in the Lord. Now we believe he is praying the same for us.

1 Thessalonians 5:9-11

…our Lord Jesus Christ, Who died for us in order that whether we watch or sleep, we may live together with Him. Therefore comfort one another, and build up each one the other…

About drod55

Howdy, my name is David and I love Jesus. I have fallen in love with the Bible and love reading Christian books and sharing the good news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

