It’s NOT Greek To US

Why study New Testament Greek? This is the question I asked as I debated whether or not to take a Greek class. I wanted to stop “snorkeling” and really dive into the depths of the Bible. As I studied, I said what many people say while learning another language, “Wow, I’m finally beginning to understand English.” Understanding grammar and sentence structure helped me get a better hold on language and communicating what is on your heart. As a result, I began to see what is on God’s heart.

Learning how English words translate literally was what fascinated me at first (See Here We COME LORD JESUS!). I aced the vocab sections of the test but bombed the grammar and conjugation sections. I have been scared of grammar since Junior High English. Just as every word is full of meaning, so are the tenses, conjugations, and voices. Even in the grammar I began to see what is on God’s heart.

What is on God’s heart? As the Father, He delights in His many sons. As the Head, He needs a body. As the Bridegroom, He’s after a bride. After memorizing all the verses about the Body of Christ, I finally began to see that this is what is on God’s heart. God wants a group of tight knit people that love each other, love Him, and match Him.

Instead of breaking down all the verses where Paul speaks in the plural, I’d like to reference a passage that came alive to me today. A friend of mine was suffering this morning and called me to pray. All I could do was pray 2 Corinthians 4:16,17.

Therefore we do not lose heart; but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day. For our momentary lightness of affliction works out for US, more and more surpassingly, an eternal weight of glory.

Praying for this brother in need supplied him and I BOTH. His suffering worked out for US BOTH. After that, we had a chance to get together and pray. This verse came up again and showed us that although God does want to help us through our individual struggles, it is so we can help out others. As we went about our day we ran into some others that were really struggling so we prayed for them too.

Many times we try to problem solve and reason our way out of many difficult, even impossible situations. Once we realize that all of our situations have been arranged by God so that we pray for others and others pray for us, they no longer are Greek to us. Some people say that hard times are a part of life. I’d like to say that they are for ZOE life!

About drod55

Howdy, my name is David and I love Jesus. I have fallen in love with the Bible and love reading Christian books and sharing the good news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s NOT Greek To US

  1. Beatriz says:

    Amen! Thank you for writing your experience. It helped me to see that the Head and the Body supply and take care of each weak member when we are open for fellowship and we are not ashamed to recognize our condition. His grace and mercy are in the Body and are for the Body.

  2. Don says:

    David, how good to study Greek with the focus of living with the Lord!

  3. Very good. I am happy to see your progress.

Leave a Reply

