On Being A Steward

image

I’m currently in an airplane watching very angry passengers board. We all missed our flight (and connecting flights) because of technical difficulties. We waited for hours in lines and on the phone trying to get rerouted. We waited for meal voutures to no avail. We’re  hungry for real food, not junk food. Everyone’s complaining. One lady even told me this was the worst day of her life.

This is what makes being a steward/stewardess challenging. This is also what makes being a steward necessary.

I was reading 1 Corinthians in anticipation of this weeks college conference. The topic is Christ and the church in 1 Corinthians. One word that stuck out was this word steward.

A man should account us in this way, as servants of Christ and stewards of the mysteries of God – 1 Corinthians 4:1

If I do this of my own will, I have a reward, but if not of my own will, I am entrusted with a stewardship – 1 Corinthians 9:17

The word steward is also mentioned in Ephesians, Colossians, 1 Peter and even the gospels.

At this point in the flight, the stewards have ushered all the passengers into the plane. They have told the passengers in the emergency exits their responsibilities and asked for a verbal confirmation that they are willing to help out in case of an emergency.

The stewards have also taught everyone what to do in case of an emergency, where the exits are, where the oxygen masks are etc. The captain’s voice has spoken occasionally to welcome everyone and even warn everyone of upcoming weather and turbulence.

The plane is finally soaring above the clouds and there is a beautiful birds eye view of the smog soup bowl of southern California. I didn’t notice all the pollution while I was down there in it. I needed to get carried away, way up high to see what I was living in.

I’ve leaned my seat back and had an awesome power nap. Everyone is finally starting to calm down and enjoy the flight, especially because the stewards are asking what everyone wants to drink.

As I watch and consider these stewards on this plane, I have a better understanding of what it means to be a steward of God.

Stewards do 3 main things.

They cheer you up and comfort you after racing around trying to make it onto the plane on time.

They warn you and save you by giving instructions.

They nourish you with food and drink.

Stewards of God do this too, in particularly, by their speaking. Pay attention to this in these 3 verses

2 Corinthians 7:7  And not only by his coming, but also by the comfort with which he was comforted because of you, declaring to us your longing, your lamentation, your zeal for me, so that I rejoiced the more.

1 Timothy 4:16  Take heed to yourself and to your teaching; continue in these things; for in doing this you will save both yourself and those who hear you.

1 Timothy 4:6  If you lay these things before the brothers, you will be a good minister of Christ Jesus, being nourished with the words of the faith and of the good teaching which you have closely followed.

Stewards comfort and cheer, save and instruct, and nourish, all by their speaking. Would you like to be trained to be a steward? Sign up today at

http://www.FTTA.org

About drod55

Howdy, my name is David and I love Jesus. I have fallen in love with the Bible and love reading Christian books and sharing the good news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Being A Steward

  1. Stefan says:

    I never knew you’re a steward, brother. I like the parallel you make between being a steward on a plane and being a steward of God. We are stewards of God, so we need to be filled with His divine life as cheering wine – to be happy with the Lord and also make others happy with this Wonderful One as food and drink!

    Now Paul’s word has a deeper meaning… Lord, make us Your real stewards to the ones around us!

    • drod55 says:

      I wish I were a steward employed by an airline. It would be a great way to blend with the saints around the world. Right now my wife and I are full time stewards on the Texas State campus. One of these days I’ll make it out to Europe to visit (maybe live). BTW, my wife took that picture as we were getting off our flight. Sorry for any confusion 🙂

  2. BIlly says:

    Amen brother David!

  3. Don says:

    You present a good airborne “parable” along with the spiritual reality. Like Timothy, if we are nourished, we can lay nourishment before the brothers.

Leave a Reply

