Two’s and Three’s

For the next few weeks, the Church in Austin will be having fellowship concerning the vital groups. This is a great topic because all of us have a deep inward desire to be grouped. This is also the way our Lord Jesus carried out His ministry on the earth. He was with a group of 12 guys for three and a half years. He worked on this group, spent all His time with this group, and poured out everything He had on this group. Even after Jesus died, He still wasn’t done perfecting them. He had to come back to them for another 40 days to finish what He started. He’s still working

To have a vital group, we ourselves need to be vital. A few things that have helped me enormously are having a morning time with the Lord Jesus and reading the Bible throughout the day. Nothing has changed my life as drastically as these simple habits. These practices also intensify my desire to gather together with other believers. At first, it is difficult deciding who to get with. This problem is solved by a simple prayer, “Lord I need help. I need someone to get with. Please bring me someone, today.” Imagine what it would be like if everyone prayed in this way. Surprisingly, there are many who are, especially after this fellowship on vital groups. When two such seekers finally find each other, that’s a group. Two is the minimum number required to have a group. To become a vital group, however, takes time. What should we do when we come together? Matthew 18:20 says,

“For where there are two or three gathered together into My name, there am I in their midst.”

A good thing to do when we come together is to call on the Lord’s name. Jesus! Lord Jesus! O Lord Jesus! We need to milk that name, chew that name, and really get into it. This sounds easy but it isn’t. This is a struggle we have to overcome daily. It is also interesting that the very next verse in Matthew hints at this difficulty. Matthew 18:21 says,

“Then Peter came and said to Him, Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me and I forgive him?”

When we are around others, we get offended. Plain and simple. Offenses are good in a way in that they help us identify and deal with the self, as mentioned in Matthew 16:24,

“Then Jesus said to His disciples, If anyone wants to come after Me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow Me.”

So how do we deny our self? I can testify that many times before I meet with someone, I want to flake out and make up an excuse. Here it is. Crunch time. This is a golden opportunity to deny myself. What a joy to deny myself. All I can say is I’ve never regretted it. Don Looper’s motto always encourages me, “Count the cost, pay the price, live a life of no regrets.” The more I live this way, the more I realize how normal it is. This is the way to live a normal Christian life.

About drod55

Howdy, my name is David and I love Jesus. I have fallen in love with the Bible and love reading Christian books and sharing the good news.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two’s and Three’s

  1. charlie says:

    good word david; it never ceases to amaze me that when we ask of the lord in prayer how faithful is his answer; i was at work the other day when i saw a nurse who has cancer. he told me this a few days ago and apparently it is in operable. he also said he would forego chemo; too toxic; but, he said he was going to beat it; he is a dear lover of jesus, so when i saw him i had a few moments to ask the lord about him and his desire to beat this and that miracles do occur? as soon as i walked back to my unit, one of the nursing assistants called out, ‘hey, charlie, i’ve got something for you to see’; out of no where, leo comes up to me all excited because of a new product; leo is in nursing school, from brazil, was in medical school there; loves the lord and is very much interested in alternative health remedies; so, he shows me this jumex juice can called ‘guanabana’ which is from a fruit in brazil that has anti-cancer properties; apparently, it is a very effective anti-cancer remedy; he said the lord had revealed this to him a few days ago. he told me to research it and what i found was amazing; what was also amazing is that i had just asked the lord about stu and his need for some intervention and then this. so, i immediately went back to stu with a copy of some of this information and how i felt this was of the lord. then, on return to my unit, a psychiatric ward, i got with leo and i took him aside to a small consult room and explained all this to him and we both prayed, for the lord is the great physician and gave thanks to the lord for how he had gathered us together, and how mysteriously he does work. all things to the church, charlie

Leave a Reply

